28 °C Clear sky Rabat

Wednesday 12 June 2019

Santo Domingo: Morocco and Dominican Republic Sign Two Cooperation Agreements

Vocal synthesis
Santo Domingo: Morocco and Dominican Republic Sign Two Cooperation Agreements

Morocco and the Dominican Republic concluded two cooperation agreements covering the areas of trade, investment and the production chain, as well as tourist and business visa exemption.

The two agreements, aimed at strengthening cooperation between the two countries, were signed Tuesday in Santo Domingo by Foreign Minister Nasser Bourita and his Dominican counterpart Miguel Vargas Maldonado.

In the presence of Moroccan ambassador to the Dominican Republic Zakaria El Goumiri, the two ministers signed a memorandum of understanding between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation and the Dominican Ministry of Foreign Affairs on the creation of a joint working group for strengthening trade, investment and the production chain.

The joint working group will focus on fostering economic and trade relations between the two countries, by promoting the sharing of data, strategies and ideas between the public and private sectors of the two countries; carrying out activities for the sharing of good practices and technical assistance; exploring ways to improve the business climate and boost trade, investment, and production chain opportunities and facilitating bilateral trade.

This working group will also coordinate and monitor the trade and investment cooperation programs under the agreements concluded by the two countries, in collaboration with the relevant government departments and private economic operators.

In addition, the two ministers signed an agreement on tourist and business visa exemption, with a view to facilitating the travel of nationals of both countries for tourism and commercial purposes.

Under this agreement, nationals of both countries, holders of valid common or ordinary passports, are exempt from visa to enter, exit, transit and stay in the territory of the other party, for tourist purposes or business, for a period of up to (60) days, renewable for the same period, so that the total duration of the stay does not exceed (120) days for each period of 12 months as of the first entry into the territory of both countries.

MAP 11 June 2019