16 °C Clear sky Rabat

Royal Activities
Wednesday 31 July 2019

HM the King, Commander of the Faithful, Chairs in Tetouan Allegiance Ceremony

HM the King, Commander of the Faithful, Chairs in Tetouan Allegiance Ceremony

HM King Mohammed VI, Commander of the Faithful, accompanied by HRH Crown Prince Moulay El Hassan and HRH Prince Moulay Rachid, chaired, on Wednesday in the Meshuar square in Tetouan Royal Palace, the allegiance ceremony in commemoration of the 20th anniversary of the accession of the sovereign to the throne of his glorious ancestors.

In the beginning of this ceremony, Interior Minister Abdelouafi Laftit in addition to Walis and Governors of the kingdom's wilayas, prefectures and provinces, as well as Walis and Governors of the Interior Ministry’s Central Administration, swore allegiance to HM the King.

Afterwards, delegations representing the different regions, prefectures and provinces of the Kingdom renewed allegiance to the Monarch.

The allegiance or "Baiaa", a centuries-old pact binding the Throne and the people, is a mutual commitment whereby the people pledge loyalty to the King and the King pledges to defend the independence, sovereignty and integrity of the country, to preserve the citizens' rights and to see to the prosperity and progress of the nation. The ceremony ended by firing a 5-gun salute.

The ceremony took place in the presence of the Head of government, the Speakers of the two houses of parliament, HM the King's advisors, cabinet members, high commissioners, chairmen of constitutional bodies, high-ranking officers from the general staff of the royal armed forces and other civil and military figures.

MAP 31 July 2019