Having opted for political pluralism, Morocco has been engaged in the path of trade-union plurality. Article 8 of the Constitution stipulates that “Unions of employees (…) contribute in the defence and the promotion of the rights and socioeconomic interests of categories that they represent. Their establishment and the practice of their activities, by respecting the Constitution and the Law, are free”.

Thus, trade unionism was introduced into Morocco during the colonial period on the initiative of the Moroccan Communist Party. However, after the independence of Morocco, the precursor of the union action became the Moroccan Labour Union (MLU), founded in 1955.
Other unions were born following scissions within the (MUW): the General Union of Moroccan Workers (GUMW.) and the Democratic Labour Confederation (DLC) which will animate the national trade-union scenery for a long time before the emergence of other unions.

Labour Unions

The Moroccan Labour Union (MLU.), the General Union of Moroccan Workers  ,  (GUMW.), the Democratic Labour Confederation (DLC),the National Union of Moroccan Workers (NUMW), the Federation of Popular Unions (FPU), the Moroccan Labour Forces (MLF), the Union of Free Worker's Association (UFWA), the National Popular Union (NPU), the Moroccan Workers Union (MWU), and the Democratic Syndicates Union (DSU).


Teachers Union:


National Union of Higher Education (NUHE).


Students Unions:
National Union of Moroccan Students (NUMS).

General Union of Moroccan Students (GUMS).

Journalists Unions:

 National Union of Moroccan Press (NUMP).

 Moroccan Federation of Journal Editors (MFJE).